HP Omen MAX 16 (RTX 5070 & Ryzen AI 9 HX 375) Acer Predator Helios 18 (RTX 5070 Ti & Intel Core Ultra 9) Comparison

XMG Apex 16 Max (RTX 5070 Ti & Ryzen 9) Compare
XMG Apex 16 Max (RTX 5070 Ti & Ryzen 9)
Overview
Brand
HPAcer
Model
OMEN MAX 16 Pro Gaming Laptop (2025 Model, e.g., 16-ak0xxx variant)Predator Helios Neo 18 AI
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Laptop GPUNVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Ti Laptop GPU with 992 AI TOPS, based on Blackwell architecture
RTX 5070 Laptops
RAM
64GB DDR5-5600MHz16GB (2x8GB) DDR5 5600MHz SO-DIMM
64GB Laptops | 8GB Laptops
Storage
1TB PCIe Gen4 NVMe M.2 SSD1TB Gen 4 NVMe SSD
1TB Laptops
Display
16-inch WQXGA (2560 x 1600) IPS, 240Hz18-inch WQXGA (2560x1600) resolution, 16:10 aspect ratio, 240Hz refresh rate, 3ms response time, IPS panel, 100% DCI-P3 color gamut, 500 nits brightness, NVIDIA G-SYNC, NVIDIA Advanced Optimus
Operating System
Windows 11 HomeWindows 11 Home or Pro (not specified, assumed standard)
Weight
2.68 kg or 5.91 lbsnull
Color
Shadow BlackBlack (assumed standard Predator design)
Processor
CPU
AMD Ryzen AI 9 HX 375 ProcessorIntel Core Ultra 9 275HX
AMD Ryzen AI 9 HX 375 Processor Laptops | Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX Laptops
Architecture
Zen 5 (Strix Point)
Cores
12 (4 Performance-cores + 8 Efficient-cores)8 cores
Threads
24.016 threads
Base Clock
2.0 GHz3.0 GHz
Max Turbo Boost
Up to 5.1 GHzup to 5.0 GHz
Cache
24MB L3 Cache24MB L3 cache
TDP
45W (Processor Base Power, Total System Power up to 250W with Unleashed Mode)null
Additional Features
AMD Ryzen AI (up to 55 NPU TOPS), Copilot+ PC certified
Display
Screen Size
16 inches (40.64 cm)18 inches
Resolution
2560 x 1600 (WQXGA)WQXGA (2560x1600)
Refresh Rate
240Hz240Hz
Response Time
3ms (G2G)3ms
Panel Type
IPS, micro-edge, anti-glareIPS
Color Gamut
100% sRGB100% DCI-P3
Brightness
500 nits500 nits
Aspect Ratio
16:1016:10
Additional Features
Low Blue Light, NVIDIA® G-SYNC™ Support, Variable Refresh Rate supportNVIDIA G-SYNC, NVIDIA Advanced Optimus
Graphics
GPU
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Laptop GPUNVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Ti Laptop GPU
VRAM
8GB GDDR78GB GDDR6 (assumed standard for RTX 5070 Ti)
Architecture
NVIDIA Blackwell (implied for RTX 50 series)
TGP
115W (Total Graphics Power with Dynamic Boost)null
Ray Tracing
Yes, with 4th Gen RT CoresSupported
DLSS Support
Yes, DLSS 4 with Multi Frame GenerationDLSS 4
Additional Features
NVIDIA Advanced Optimus, MUX Switch, NVIDIA Reflex 2, AI-enhanced performanceFull ray tracing, neural rendering, AI acceleration
Benchmark Scores
null
Memory
RAM Type
DDR5DDR5
RAM Speed
5600MHz5600MHz
Expandable Memory
Yes, up to 64GB (2x DDR5 SO-DIMM slots, 2x32GB configured for 64GB)Up to 32GB (2x16GB) DDR5 5600MHz SO-DIMM
Storage
Primary Storage
1TB PCIe Gen4 NVMe M.2 SSD1TB NVMe Gen 4 SSD
Secondary Storage Options
1 additional M.2 SSD slot available (2 total M.2 slots, supports Gen4 and potentially Gen5 in some configurations)null
RAID Support
Not explicitly specified, but dual M.2 slots can sometimes support RAID configurations.null
Gaming Features
Dedicated Gaming Keys
Not explicitly specified, but full-size keyboard with numeric keypad.4-Zone RGB Keyboard
RGB Customization
Per-Key RGB backlit keyboard, customizable in OMEN Gaming Hub, RGB Light Bar.Supported
Game Optimization
OMEN AI, OMEN Gaming Hub (Optimizer, Network Booster, Unleashed mode for manual overclock control)PredatorSense software, optimized for gaming performance
Performance
Cooling Technology
OMEN Tempest Cooling Pro (Vapor Chamber, upgraded hybrid thermal compound, intelligent IR thermopile sensor, optimized airflow, dual fans, additional heat pipes)Acer's advanced cooling with multiple fans and vapor chamber
Overclocking Support
Yes (Unleashed mode in OMEN Gaming Hub for manual overclock control)Supported via PredatorSense
Performance Modes
Available via OMEN Gaming Hub (e.g., Quiet, Balanced, Performance, Unleashed mode)Multiple modes including Turbo, Balanced, and Quiet
Benchmark Scores
Not explicitly specified by HP, but expected strong performance for AAA titles.null
Battery
Capacity
83 Wh Li-ion polymer, 6-cellnull
Backup Time
Not explicitly specified, but typical for powerful gaming laptops (approx. 5-8 hours for light use).null
Charging Type
Supports battery fast charge (approximately 50% in 30 minutes), USB-C Power Delivery (up to 100W)Supports 100W fast charging; 30 minutes to 50%
Power Adapter
330W AC Power AdapterLikely 200W or higher (not specified)
Connectivity
WiFi
MediaTek Wi-Fi 7 MT7925 (2x2) (802.11be)Killer Wi-Fi 6E
Ethernet
Integrated 10/100/1000/2500 GbE LAN (2.5 Gigabit Ethernet)
Bluetooth
5.4Supported (version not specified, likely 5.2 or higher)
Ports
2x USB Type-C® 40Gbps signaling rate (USB Power Delivery 3.1, DisplayPort™ 2.1, HP Sleep and Charge), 2x USB Type-A 10Gbps signaling rate, 1x HDMI 2.1, 1x RJ-45, 1x Headphone/microphone combo, 1x AC smart pin (power port)USB-C (with Thunderbolt support likely), USB-A, HDMI, Ethernet (RJ45), Audio jack (combo)
Keyboard & Touchpad
Keyboard Type
Full-size, per-key RGB backlit, shadow black keyboard with numeric keypad and NKRO Anti-Ghosting Key technologyMechanical-style 4-Zone RGB Keyboard
Key Travel
Not explicitly specified, but described as comfortable with good travel.null
N-Key Rollover
NKRO Anti-Ghosting Key technologySupported
Touchpad Features
HP Imagepad with Multi-touch Gesture Support, potentially haptic feedback (varies by config)Precision touchpad with multi-touch support
Audio
Speakers
Dual speakers tuned by HyperXStereo speakers, likely downward-firing
Audio Enhancements
DTS:X® Ultra; HP Audio Boost; HyperXSupported via Acer's software, possibly DTS or similar
Dedicated Audio Jack
Yes (Headphone/microphone combo)Yes
Camera
Webcam
HP True Vision 1080p FHD IR camera with temporal noise reduction and integrated dual array digital microphonesLikely 720p HD webcam
Enhancements
Windows Hello support, AI features for video quality (implied by OMEN AI)
Privacy Shutter
Yes (Camera privacy shutter)Supported
Build & Design
Material
Shadow black aluminum (cover and base, for MAX series), plastic chassisPlastic and metal chassis
Color Options
Shadow BlackBlack
RGB Lighting
Per-Key RGB keyboard, RGB Light Bar, RGB in keyboard frameYes, on keyboard and possibly other accents
Dimensions
35.65 x 26.9 x 2.29 cm (front); 35.65 x 26.9 x 2.48 cm (rear) / 14.04 x 10.59 x 0.9 - 0.98 inchesnull
Additional Features
Premium construction with sleek finish, durable metal construction
Special Features
Virtual Reality Ready
YesSupported
Advanced Cooling
Yes (OMEN Tempest Cooling Pro with Vapor Chamber and Cryo Compound)Yes
Software
OMEN Gaming Hub, Windows 11 Home, Microsoft Copilot, DTS:X Ultra, HyperX, Xbox Game Pass (3-month trial)PredatorSense for system tuning and lighting control
Upgrade-Friendly Design
User-accessible memory slots, SSD upgradeability (2 M.2 slots for easy expansion or RAID).
AI PC Features
AMD Ryzen AI NPU for accelerated AI workloads, OMEN AI for performance optimization, Copilot+ PC certified.
Box Contents
Laptop
YesPredator Helios Neo 18 AI
Power Adapter
Yes, 330W AC Power AdapterIncluded (likely 200W or higher)
User Manual
YesIncluded
Warranty Card
Yes, 1-year limited hardware warranty (may include extended warranty as an add-on, specific to region)Included
Additional Accessories
PCO Laptop Cooler (as bundled), Microsoft Copilot, Xbox Game Pass (3-month trial)null
Launch Date
Release Date
April 2025 (as per current market listings and HP announcements at CES 2025)March 2026
Status
AvailableAvailable

Which is Better: HP Omen MAX 16 (RTX 5070 & Ryzen AI 9 HX 375) or Acer Predator Helios 18 (RTX 5070 Ti & Intel Core Ultra 9)?

Based on the comparison, here's how each product stands out:

Advantages of Acer Predator Helios 18 (RTX 5070 Ti & Intel Core Ultra 9):

Disclaimer: The information provided here may not be fully accurate. Please verify the specifications and prices on the retailer's website before making a purchase.