MSI Katana 15 HX (RTX 5070 & Intel i7 14th Gen)
|
||
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Brand | ||
| HP | Acer | |
| Model | ||
| OMEN 16 Gaming Laptop (e.g., 16-ap0053dx / BP1Q1UA#ABA) | Predator Helios Neo 18 AI | |
| Graphics | ||
| NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060 Laptop GPU | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Ti Laptop GPU with 992 AI TOPS, based on Blackwell architecture | |
| RTX 5060 Laptops | RTX 5070 Laptops | ||
| RAM | ||
| 32GB DDR5-5200MHz | 16GB (2x8GB) DDR5 5600MHz SO-DIMM | |
| 32GB Laptops | 8GB Laptops | ||
| Storage | ||
| 1TB PCIe Gen4 NVMe M.2 SSD | 1TB Gen 4 NVMe SSD | |
| 1TB Laptops | ||
| Display | ||
| 16-inch WUXGA (1920 x 1200) IPS, 144Hz | 18-inch WQXGA (2560x1600) resolution, 16:10 aspect ratio, 240Hz refresh rate, 3ms response time, IPS panel, 100% DCI-P3 color gamut, 500 nits brightness, NVIDIA G-SYNC, NVIDIA Advanced Optimus | |
| Operating System | ||
| Windows 11 Home | Windows 11 Home or Pro (not specified, assumed standard) | |
| Weight | ||
| 2.45 kg or 5.42 lbs | null | |
| Color | ||
| Shadow Black | Black (assumed standard Predator design) | |
| Processor | ||
| CPU | ||
| AMD Ryzen 9 8940HX Processor | Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX | |
| AMD Ryzen 9 Laptops | Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX Laptops | ||
| Architecture | ||
| Zen 4 (Hawk Point) | ||
| Cores | ||
| 16 (8 Performance-cores + 8 Efficient-cores) | 8 cores | |
| Threads | ||
| 32.0 | 16 threads | |
| Base Clock | ||
| 2.4 GHz | 3.0 GHz | |
| Max Turbo Boost | ||
| Up to 5.3 GHz | up to 5.0 GHz | |
| Cache | ||
| 64MB L3 Cache | 24MB L3 cache | |
| TDP | ||
| 45W (Processor Base Power, GPU Total Graphics Power 115W, Total System Power up to 170W) | null | |
| Additional Features | ||
| AMD Ryzen AI (up to 50 NPU TOPS), Copilot+ PC capable | ||
| Display | ||
| Screen Size | ||
| 16 inches (40.64 cm) | 18 inches | |
| Resolution | ||
| 1920 x 1200 (WUXGA / FHD+) | WQXGA (2560x1600) | |
| Refresh Rate | ||
| 144Hz | 240Hz | |
| Response Time | ||
| Not explicitly specified, but often 3ms for gaming IPS panels, though some sources list 60-165Hz with 3ms for other Omen 16 variants. | 3ms | |
| Panel Type | ||
| IPS, micro-edge | IPS | |
| Color Gamut | ||
| 62.5% sRGB (some sources indicate 100% sRGB for different panel variants) | 100% DCI-P3 | |
| Brightness | ||
| 300 nits | 500 nits | |
| Aspect Ratio | ||
| 16:10 | 16:10 | |
| Additional Features | ||
| Anti-glare display, AMD FreeSync™ technology, Low Blue Light (for some variants) | NVIDIA G-SYNC, NVIDIA Advanced Optimus | |
| Graphics | ||
| GPU | ||
| NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060 Laptop GPU | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Ti Laptop GPU | |
| VRAM | ||
| 8GB GDDR7 | 8GB GDDR6 (assumed standard for RTX 5070 Ti) | |
| Architecture | ||
| NVIDIA Blackwell (implied for RTX 50 series) | ||
| TGP | ||
| 115W (with Dynamic Boost) | null | |
| Ray Tracing | ||
| Yes, with 4th Gen RT Cores | Supported | |
| DLSS Support | ||
| Yes, DLSS 4 with Multi Frame Generation | DLSS 4 | |
| Additional Features | ||
| NVIDIA Advanced Optimus, MUX Switch (implied by OMEN AI optimization), NVIDIA Reflex 2, AI-enhanced performance | Full ray tracing, neural rendering, AI acceleration | |
| Benchmark Scores | ||
| null | ||
| Memory | ||
| RAM Type | ||
| DDR5 | DDR5 | |
| RAM Speed | ||
| 5200MHz (some sources mention 5600MHz for other configurations) | 5600MHz | |
| Expandable Memory | ||
| Yes, up to 64GB (2x DDR5 SO-DIMM slots) | Up to 32GB (2x16GB) DDR5 5600MHz SO-DIMM | |
| Storage | ||
| Primary Storage | ||
| 1TB PCIe Gen4 NVMe M.2 SSD | 1TB NVMe Gen 4 SSD | |
| Secondary Storage Options | ||
| Not explicitly specified, but typically Omen 16 models have a single M.2 slot or two for expansion (this model likely has one available after primary is used). | null | |
| RAID Support | ||
| Not specified | null | |
| Gaming Features | ||
| Dedicated Gaming Keys | ||
| Not explicitly specified, but standard full-size keyboard with numeric keypad. | 4-Zone RGB Keyboard | |
| RGB Customization | ||
| 4-Zone RGB Backlit Keyboard, customizable in OMEN Gaming Hub. | Supported | |
| Game Optimization | ||
| OMEN AI, OMEN Gaming Hub (Optimizer, Network Booster, Unleashed mode for manual overclock control) | PredatorSense software, optimized for gaming performance | |
| Performance | ||
| Cooling Technology | ||
| OMEN Tempest Cooling Technology (optimized airflow, dual fans, intelligent IR thermopile sensor), additional heat pipe on CPU and GPU, expanded fan gap. | Acer's advanced cooling with multiple fans and vapor chamber | |
| Overclocking Support | ||
| Yes (Unleashed mode in OMEN Gaming Hub) | Supported via PredatorSense | |
| Performance Modes | ||
| Available via OMEN Gaming Hub (e.g., Unleashed mode) | Multiple modes including Turbo, Balanced, and Quiet | |
| Benchmark Scores | ||
| Not explicitly specified by HP, but expected strong performance for AAA titles. | null | |
| Battery | ||
| Capacity | ||
| 83 Wh Li-ion polymer, 6-cell (some sources mention 70 Wh, but 83 Wh is common for this high-end config) | null | |
| Backup Time | ||
| Not explicitly specified, but typically around 5-8 hours for light use, less for gaming. | null | |
| Charging Type | ||
| Supports battery fast charge (approximately 50% in 30 minutes) | Supports 100W fast charging; 30 minutes to 50% | |
| Power Adapter | ||
| 230W AC Power Adapter | Likely 200W or higher (not specified) | |
| Connectivity | ||
| WiFi | ||
| Wi-Fi 6E (2x2) (MediaTek Wi-Fi 6E MT7922) | Killer Wi-Fi 6E | |
| Ethernet | ||
| Integrated 10/100/1000 GbE LAN (Gigabit Ethernet) | ||
| Bluetooth | ||
| 5.3 | Supported (version not specified, likely 5.2 or higher) | |
| Ports | ||
| 1x USB Type-C® 10Gbps signaling rate (USB Power Delivery 3.0, DisplayPort™ 1.4, HP Sleep and Charge), 1x USB Type-A 10Gbps signaling rate, 2x USB Type-A 5Gbps signaling rate, 1x HDMI 2.1, 1x RJ-45, 1x Headphone/microphone combo, 1x AC smart pin (power port) | USB-C (with Thunderbolt support likely), USB-A, HDMI, Ethernet (RJ45), Audio jack (combo) | |
| Keyboard & Touchpad | ||
| Keyboard Type | ||
| Full-size, 4-zone RGB backlit, shadow black keyboard with numeric keypad and 26-Key Rollover Anti-Ghosting Key technology | Mechanical-style 4-Zone RGB Keyboard | |
| Key Travel | ||
| Not explicitly specified | null | |
| N-Key Rollover | ||
| 26-Key Rollover Anti-Ghosting Key technology | Supported | |
| Touchpad Features | ||
| HP Imagepad with Multi-touch Gesture Support | Precision touchpad with multi-touch support | |
| Audio | ||
| Speakers | ||
| Dual speakers tuned by HyperX | Stereo speakers, likely downward-firing | |
| Audio Enhancements | ||
| DTS:X® Ultra; HP Audio Boost; HyperX | Supported via Acer's software, possibly DTS or similar | |
| Dedicated Audio Jack | ||
| Yes (Headphone/microphone combo) | Yes | |
| Camera | ||
| Webcam | ||
| HP True Vision 1080p FHD camera with temporal noise reduction and integrated dual array digital microphones | Likely 720p HD webcam | |
| Enhancements | ||
| AI features for video quality (implied by OMEN AI) | ||
| Privacy Shutter | ||
| Yes (Camera privacy shutter) | Supported | |
| Build & Design | ||
| Material | ||
| Plastic chassis (Shadow Black, designed for durability) | Plastic and metal chassis | |
| Color Options | ||
| Shadow Black | Black | |
| RGB Lighting | ||
| 4-Zone RGB keyboard, RGB in keyboard frame (Light Bar mentioned for some series) | Yes, on keyboard and possibly other accents | |
| Dimensions | ||
| 35.75 x 26.9 x 2.37 cm (front); 35.75 x 26.9 x 2.84 cm (rear) / 14.07 x 10.59 x 0.94 - 1.12 inches | null | |
| Additional Features | ||
| Sturdy build for gaming | ||
| Special Features | ||
| Virtual Reality Ready | ||
| Yes | Supported | |
| Advanced Cooling | ||
| Yes (OMEN Tempest Cooling Technology) | Yes | |
| Software | ||
| OMEN Gaming Hub, Windows 11 Home, Microsoft Copilot, Otter.ai, DTS:X Ultra, HyperX | PredatorSense for system tuning and lighting control | |
| Upgrade-Friendly Design | ||
| User-accessible memory slots, SSD upgradeability. | ||
| AI PC Features | ||
| AMD Ryzen AI NPU for accelerated AI workloads, OMEN AI for performance optimization. | ||
| Box Contents | ||
| Laptop | ||
| Yes | Predator Helios Neo 18 AI | |
| Power Adapter | ||
| Yes, 230W AC Power Adapter | Included (likely 200W or higher) | |
| User Manual | ||
| Yes | Included | |
| Warranty Card | ||
| Yes, 1-year limited hardware warranty (may vary by region) | Included | |
| Additional Accessories | ||
| Microsoft Copilot AI, Otter.ai (pre-installed, details on full version/trial vary) | null | |
| Launch Date | ||
| Release Date | ||
| June 2025 (as per current market listings) | March 2026 | |
| Status | ||
| Available | Available | |
Based on the comparison, here's how each product stands out:
Compare HP Omen 16 (RTX 5060 & Ryzen 9 8940HX) with:
Compare Acer Predator Helios 18 (RTX 5070 Ti & Intel Core Ultra 9) with: