Thunderobot Storm 17 (RTX 5070 & i7 13th Gen)
|
||
|---|---|---|
| Overview | ||
| Brand | ||
| HP | Acer | |
| Model | ||
| OMEN 16 Gaming Laptop (e.g., 16-an0119 or 16-an0075cl equivalent) | Predator Helios Neo 18 AI | |
| Graphics | ||
| NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Laptop GPU | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Ti Laptop GPU with 992 AI TOPS, based on Blackwell architecture | |
| RTX 5070 Laptops | ||
| RAM | ||
| 16GB DDR5-5600MHz | 16GB (2x8GB) DDR5 5600MHz SO-DIMM | |
| 16GB Laptops | 8GB Laptops | ||
| Storage | ||
| 1TB PCIe Gen4 NVMe M.2 SSD | 1TB Gen 4 NVMe SSD | |
| 1TB Laptops | ||
| Display | ||
| 16-inch WQXGA (2560 x 1600) IPS, 240Hz | 18-inch WQXGA (2560x1600) resolution, 16:10 aspect ratio, 240Hz refresh rate, 3ms response time, IPS panel, 100% DCI-P3 color gamut, 500 nits brightness, NVIDIA G-SYNC, NVIDIA Advanced Optimus | |
| Operating System | ||
| Windows 11 Home | Windows 11 Home or Pro (not specified, assumed standard) | |
| Weight | ||
| 2.43 kg or 5.35 lbs | null | |
| Color | ||
| Shadow Black | Black (assumed standard Predator design) | |
| Processor | ||
| CPU | ||
| Intel Core Ultra 9 Processor 285H | Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX | |
| Intel Core Ultra 9 Processor 285H Laptops | Intel Core Ultra 9 275HX Laptops | ||
| Architecture | ||
| Arrow Lake-H (2nd Gen Core Ultra, H series) | ||
| Cores | ||
| 16 (6 Performance-cores + 8 Efficient-cores + 2 Low Power E-cores) | 8 cores | |
| Threads | ||
| 22.0 | 16 threads | |
| Base Clock | ||
| 2.1 GHz (Efficient Cores), 2.8 GHz (Performance Cores) | 3.0 GHz | |
| Max Turbo Boost | ||
| Up to 5.4 GHz (Performance Cores) | up to 5.0 GHz | |
| Cache | ||
| 24MB L3 Cache | 24MB L3 cache | |
| TDP | ||
| 45W (Processor Base Power, Total System Power up to 105W-150W with GPU) | null | |
| Additional Features | ||
| Intel AI Boost NPU (up to 13 TOPS) | ||
| Display | ||
| Screen Size | ||
| 16 inches (40.64 cm) | 18 inches | |
| Resolution | ||
| 2560 x 1600 (WQXGA) | WQXGA (2560x1600) | |
| Refresh Rate | ||
| 240Hz | 240Hz | |
| Response Time | ||
| 3ms (G2G) | 3ms | |
| Panel Type | ||
| IPS, micro-edge, anti-glare | IPS | |
| Color Gamut | ||
| 100% sRGB (some sources indicate 100% DCI-P3 for higher-end configurations or OLED panels) | 100% DCI-P3 | |
| Brightness | ||
| 500 nits | 500 nits | |
| Aspect Ratio | ||
| 16:10 | 16:10 | |
| Additional Features | ||
| Low Blue Light, NVIDIA® G-SYNC™ Support | NVIDIA G-SYNC, NVIDIA Advanced Optimus | |
| Graphics | ||
| GPU | ||
| NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Laptop GPU | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5070 Ti Laptop GPU | |
| VRAM | ||
| 8GB GDDR7 | 8GB GDDR6 (assumed standard for RTX 5070 Ti) | |
| Architecture | ||
| NVIDIA Blackwell (implied for RTX 50 series) | ||
| TGP | ||
| Up to 105W (Total Graphics Power with Dynamic Boost) | null | |
| Ray Tracing | ||
| Yes, with 4th Gen RT Cores | Supported | |
| DLSS Support | ||
| Yes, DLSS 4 with Multi Frame Generation | DLSS 4 | |
| Additional Features | ||
| NVIDIA Advanced Optimus, MUX Switch, NVIDIA Reflex 2, AI-enhanced performance | Full ray tracing, neural rendering, AI acceleration | |
| Benchmark Scores | ||
| null | ||
| Memory | ||
| RAM Type | ||
| DDR5 | DDR5 | |
| RAM Speed | ||
| 5600MHz | 5600MHz | |
| Expandable Memory | ||
| Yes, up to 32GB (2x DDR5 SO-DIMM slots, 2x8GB configured for 16GB) | Up to 32GB (2x16GB) DDR5 5600MHz SO-DIMM | |
| Storage | ||
| Primary Storage | ||
| 1TB PCIe Gen4 NVMe M.2 SSD | 1TB NVMe Gen 4 SSD | |
| Secondary Storage Options | ||
| 1 additional M.2 SSD slot available (2 total M.2 slots, supports Gen4) | null | |
| RAID Support | ||
| Not explicitly specified, but dual M.2 slots can sometimes support RAID configurations. | null | |
| Gaming Features | ||
| Dedicated Gaming Keys | ||
| Not explicitly specified, but full-size keyboard with numeric keypad. | 4-Zone RGB Keyboard | |
| RGB Customization | ||
| 4-zone RGB backlit keyboard, customizable in OMEN Gaming Hub. | Supported | |
| Game Optimization | ||
| OMEN AI, OMEN Gaming Hub (Optimizer, Network Booster, Unleashed mode for manual overclock control) | PredatorSense software, optimized for gaming performance | |
| Performance | ||
| Cooling Technology | ||
| OMEN Tempest Cooling Technology (optimized airflow, dual fans, additional heat pipes, expanded fan gap, optimized for thin chassis) | Acer's advanced cooling with multiple fans and vapor chamber | |
| Overclocking Support | ||
| Yes (Unleashed mode in OMEN Gaming Hub) | Supported via PredatorSense | |
| Performance Modes | ||
| Available via OMEN Gaming Hub (e.g., Quiet, Balanced, Performance, Unleashed mode) | Multiple modes including Turbo, Balanced, and Quiet | |
| Benchmark Scores | ||
| Not explicitly specified by HP, but expected strong performance for AAA titles. | null | |
| Battery | ||
| Capacity | ||
| 70 Wh Li-ion polymer, 4-cell (some configurations might have 83 Wh) | null | |
| Backup Time | ||
| Approx. 6 hours (general usage), less for gaming (~1.5-2 hours). | null | |
| Charging Type | ||
| Supports battery fast charge (approximately 50% in 30 minutes) | Supports 100W fast charging; 30 minutes to 50% | |
| Power Adapter | ||
| 230W AC Power Adapter | Likely 200W or higher (not specified) | |
| Connectivity | ||
| WiFi | ||
| Intel Wi-Fi 6E AX211 (2x2) or Realtek Wi-Fi 6 (2x2) (802.11ax) | Killer Wi-Fi 6E | |
| Ethernet | ||
| Integrated 10/100/1000 GbE LAN (Gigabit Ethernet) | ||
| Bluetooth | ||
| 5.3 or 5.4 (depending on Wi-Fi module) | Supported (version not specified, likely 5.2 or higher) | |
| Ports | ||
| 1x USB Type-C® 10Gbps signaling rate (USB Power Delivery 3.0, DisplayPort™ 1.4, HP Sleep and Charge), 1x USB Type-A 10Gbps signaling rate, 2x USB Type-A 5Gbps signaling rate, 1x HDMI 2.1, 1x RJ-45, 1x Headphone/microphone combo, 1x AC smart pin (power port) | USB-C (with Thunderbolt support likely), USB-A, HDMI, Ethernet (RJ45), Audio jack (combo) | |
| Keyboard & Touchpad | ||
| Keyboard Type | ||
| Full-size, 4-zone RGB backlit, shadow black keyboard with numeric keypad and 26-Key Rollover Anti-Ghosting Key technology | Mechanical-style 4-Zone RGB Keyboard | |
| Key Travel | ||
| Not explicitly specified | null | |
| N-Key Rollover | ||
| 26-Key Rollover Anti-Ghosting Key technology | Supported | |
| Touchpad Features | ||
| HP Imagepad with Multi-touch Gesture Support | Precision touchpad with multi-touch support | |
| Audio | ||
| Speakers | ||
| Dual speakers tuned by HyperX | Stereo speakers, likely downward-firing | |
| Audio Enhancements | ||
| DTS:X® Ultra; HP Audio Boost; HyperX | Supported via Acer's software, possibly DTS or similar | |
| Dedicated Audio Jack | ||
| Yes (Headphone/microphone combo) | Yes | |
| Camera | ||
| Webcam | ||
| HP True Vision 1080p FHD camera with temporal noise reduction and integrated dual array digital microphones | Likely 720p HD webcam | |
| Enhancements | ||
| AI features for video quality (implied by OMEN AI), Windows Hello support | ||
| Privacy Shutter | ||
| Yes (Camera privacy shutter) | Supported | |
| Build & Design | ||
| Material | ||
| Plastic chassis (Shadow Black, designed for durability and slim profile) | Plastic and metal chassis | |
| Color Options | ||
| Shadow Black | Black | |
| RGB Lighting | ||
| 4-Zone RGB keyboard | Yes, on keyboard and possibly other accents | |
| Dimensions | ||
| 35.75 x 26.9 x 1.99 - 2.29 cm (front to rear) / 14.07 x 10.59 x 0.78 - 0.90 inches (for OMEN 16 Slim variants) | null | |
| Additional Features | ||
| Thinner chassis compared to standard OMEN 16 models | ||
| Special Features | ||
| Virtual Reality Ready | ||
| Yes | Supported | |
| Advanced Cooling | ||
| Yes (OMEN Tempest Cooling Technology) | Yes | |
| Software | ||
| OMEN Gaming Hub, Windows 11 Home, Microsoft Copilot, DTS:X Ultra, HyperX, Xbox Game Pass (3-month trial) | PredatorSense for system tuning and lighting control | |
| Upgrade-Friendly Design | ||
| User-accessible memory slots, SSD upgradeability. | ||
| AI PC Features | ||
| Intel AI Boost NPU for accelerated AI workloads, OMEN AI for performance optimization. | ||
| Box Contents | ||
| Laptop | ||
| Yes | Predator Helios Neo 18 AI | |
| Power Adapter | ||
| Yes, 230W AC Power Adapter | Included (likely 200W or higher) | |
| User Manual | ||
| Yes | Included | |
| Warranty Card | ||
| Yes, 1-year limited hardware warranty (may vary by region) | Included | |
| Additional Accessories | ||
| Microsoft Copilot, Xbox Game Pass (3-month trial) | null | |
| Launch Date | ||
| Release Date | ||
| March/April 2025 (Launched at HP Amplify 2025) | March 2026 | |
| Status | ||
| Available | Available | |
Based on the comparison, here's how each product stands out:
Compare HP Omen 16 (RTX 5070 & Intel Core Ultra 9 285HX) with:
Compare Acer Predator Helios 18 (RTX 5070 Ti & Intel Core Ultra 9) with: